Imam Mansur al-Buhuti al-Hanbali (d. 1051H) recommends tawassul

Buhutialhnbaliontawassul-1 Buhutialhnbaliontawassul-2Imam Mansur al-Buhuti al-Hanbali (d. 1051H) in his book Kashf al-Kina(Chapter of Hajj), writes:

It is said in Al-Sharh and Sharh Al-Muntaha:  And say: “May the peace, mercy and blessings of Allah (swt) be upon you O Prophet (saw)! May the peace of Allah (swt) be upon you O Prophet of Allah (swt) and the best of His creation and servants.    (……….)   O Allah (swt)! You said, and Your saying is truthful: {And had they, when they were unjust to themselves, come to you and asked forgiveness of Allah (swt) and the Messenger (saw) had (also) asked forgiveness for them, they would have found Allah (swt) Oft-returning (to mercy), Merciful,} and I have come to you seeking forgiveness for my sins, seeking intercession through you to my Lord, hence I ask You O Lord, to obligate forgiveness for me as you have made it an obligation for those who came to him during his lifetime. O Allah (swt)! Make him be the first among intercessors, the most successful among seekers and the most generous of the last and first (Prophet) with your mercy, O Most Merciful.” Then he invokes Allah (swt) in favor of his parents and all his Muslim brothers.

Al-Utbi said: “As I was sitting by the grave of the Prophet (saw), a Bedouin Arab came and said: “Peace be upon you, O Messenger of Allah (swt)! I have heard Allah (swt) saying: “If they had only, when they were unjust to themselves, come unto thee and asked Allah (swt)’s forgiveness, and the Messenger had asked forgiveness for them, they would have found Allah (swt) indeed Oft-returning, Most Merciful” {4:64}, so I have come to you asking forgiveness for my sin, seeking your intercession with my Lord. Then he began to recite poetry:

“O best of those whose bones are buried in the deep earth,
And from whose fragrance the depth,
and the height have become sweet,
May I be the ransom for a grave which thou inhabit,
And in which are found purity, bounty and munificence!”

Then he left, and I dozed and saw the Prophet (saw) in my sleep. He (saw) said to me: O Utbi! Run after the Bedouin and give him glad tidings that Allah (swt) has forgiven him.”

[Kashaaf Al-Iqnaa. Vol. 4, Pg. 1201.]

Leave a Reply

