Isra wal Miraj against Wahhabism

Dome-of-the-Rock-1024x680

Most of us are aware of the great journey of the Prophet Muhammed peace and blessings be upon him, called the “Isra wal Miraj” in which numerous openings and blessings were received for him and his ummah.

Below we list a number of issues in which this great journey contains proofs against the doctrines of the Wahhabi sect.

 

Travelling to visit the blessed places and to see His signs

(Glory to Him who made His servant travel by night from the sacred place of worship to the furthest place of worship, whose surroundings We have blessed, to show him some of Our signs: He alone is the All Hearing, the All Seeing.)[Quran 17:1]

From this verse we see that the Prophet  traveled to 1) a place of worship, 2) a place which has been blessed, and 3) a place where the signs of Allah are present.

The reason for the blessings of that place is understood from the following narration:

Zaid Ibn Thabit (ra) reports that the Prophet  said, “How blessed is Al-Sham”! The Companions (ra) asked, “Why is that”? The Messenger  replied, “I see the Angels of Allah spreading their wings over Al-Sham”. Ibn Abbas (ra) added, “And the Prophets lived therein. There is not a single inch in Al-Quds (Jerusalem) where a Prophet has not prayed or an Angel not stood”. (Tirmidhi, Ahmad)

Imam al-Qurtubi in his tafsir when explaining the meaning of part of the verse {whose surroundings We have blessed} writes:

وقيل: بمن دُفن حوله من الأنبياء والصالحين؛ وبهذا جعله مقدّسا.

Translation:

It is said: The Prophets and righteous are buried therein, thus making it sacred

Imam al-Mawardi also says similar to this in his tafsir:

الثاني: بمن جعل حوله من الأنبياء والصالحين ولهذا جعله مقدساً

and Imam al Maturidi in his tafsir:

وقيل: سميّ: مباركاً؛ لأنه مكان الأنبياء ومقامهم؛ فبورك فيه ببركتهم منافع، والله أعلم

and so did Imam Razi :

 وقيل بسبب أنه مقر الأنبياء ومهبط الملائكة.

and Imam al-Baghawi  وقال مجاهد: سماه مباركاً لأنه مقر الأنبياء ومهبط الملائكة 

and many others.

Hence we see that one of the notable reasons for the blessings of Jerusalem was related with the fact that Prophets lived there, prayed there and were buried there. Yet we have modern day innovators claim no such importance exist for places, prohibit Muslims from visiting the blessed places, equate such with idolatry and destroy these sites as though they are destroying idols. May Allah guide these heretics or protect us from their harm!

 

 

Transfer of wisdom and faith through means beyond speech

Narrated Malik bin Sasaa: The Prophet  said, “While I was at the House in a state midway between sleep and wakefulness, (an angel recognized me) as the man lying between two men. A golden tray full of wisdom and belief was brought to me and my body was cut open from the throat to the lower part of the abdomen and then my abdomen was washed with Zam-zam water and (my heart was) filled with wisdom and belief. [Sahih Al-Bukhari 4:429]

To a Wahhabi something like this happening is a Sufi fairy tale.

 

Prophets are alive in their graves

Anas b. malik reported Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) as saying:  I happened to pass by Moses on the occasion of the Night journey near the red mound (and found him) saying his prayer in his grave. [Sahih Muslim, Book#030, Hadith#5858 and #5859]

 

Prophets can be seen in a wakeful state

Narrated Ibn Abbas: The Prophet  said, “On the night of my Ascent to the Heaven, I saw Moses who was a tall brown curly-haired man as if he was one of the men of Shan’awa tribe, and I saw Jesus, a man of medium height and moderate complexion inclined to the red and white colors and of lank hair. I also saw Malik, the gate-keeper of the (Hell) Fire and Ad-Dajjal amongst the signs which Allah showed me.” (The Prophet  then recited the Holy Verse): “So be not you in doubt of meeting him’ when you met Moses during the night of Mi’raj over the heavens” (32.23) (Sahih Bukhari, Book#54, Hadith#462)

As seen in this hadith, the Quranic verse confirms that the seeing actually happened in real. But according to Wahhabis any such sight in a wakeful state can only be a case of seeing a Shaytan in disguise.

 

 

Prophets can be present in a congregation of dhikr

It is narrated on the authority of Abu Huraira that the Messenger of Allah  said: …. I also saw myself among the group of apostles. I saw Moses saying his prayer and found him to be a well-built man as if he was a man of the tribe of Shanu’a. I saw Jesus son of Mary (peace be upon him) offering prayer, of all of men he had the closest resemblance with ‘Urwa b. Masu’d al-Thaqafi. I saw Ibrahim (peace be upon him) offering prayer; he had the closest resemblance with your companion (the Prophet himself) amongst people. When the time of prayer came I led them. When I completed the prayer, someone said: Here is Malik, the keeper of the Hell; pay him salutations. I turned to him, but he preceded me in salutation.
[Sahih Muslim Book 001, Number 0328]

Prophets can be present in different places at a time

During the event of Isra wal Miraj, Prophet  met Musa (alaihy salam) at his grave, then met him in heaven and also later met him at the place where the all the Prophets gathered and prayed in congregation.

 

Prophets can see from a far away distance

Narrated Jabir bin ‘Abdullah: That he heard Allah’s Apostle saying, “When the people of Quraish did not believe me (i.e. the story of my Night Journey), I stood up in Al-Hijr and Allah displayed Jerusalem in front of me, and I began describing it to them while I was looking at it.” [Sahih al-Bukhari, Volume 5, Book 58, Number 226]

 

Praying in places where the signs of Allah are present

Anas bin Maik narrated that the Messenger of Allah  said: “I was brought an animal that was larger than a donkey and smaller than a mule, whose stride could reach as far as it could see. I mounted it, and Jibril was with me, and I set off. Then he said: ‘Dismount and pray,’ so I did that. He said: ‘Do you know where you have prayed? You have prayed in Taibah, which will be the place of the emigration.’ Then he said: ‘Dismount and pray,’ so I prayed. He said: ‘Do you how where you have prayed? You have prayed in Mount Sinai, where Allah, the Mighty and Sublime, spoke to Moses, peace be upon him.’ Then he said: ‘Dismount and pray.’ So I dismounted and prayed, and he said: ‘Do you know where you have prayed? You have prayed in Bethlehem, where ‘Eisa, peace be upon him, was born.’ Then I entered Bait Al-Maqdis (Jerusalem) where the Prophets, peace be upon them, were assembled for me, and Jibr’il brought me forward to lead them in prayer. …….” (Sunan Nasai, hadith No. 451)

Usthad G.F. Haddad in his article brings the same narration with the added text: “Gibrîl said: “Alight and pray here.” The Prophet  did so then remounted. Gibrîl said: “Do you know where you prayed?” He said no. Gibrîl said: “You prayed in Madyan at the tree [1] of Musa.”

and Usthad GF Haddad than comments on sources and authenticity of this narration: “Narrated as part of a long hadith from Anas by al-Nasa’i with a sound chain and from Shaddad ibn Aws by al-Bayhaqi who declared it sound in Dala’il al-Nubuwwa (2:355-357), and by al-Tabarani in al-Kabir and al-Bazzar with a sound chain as indicated by al-Haythami in Majma` al-Zawa’id. See Ibn Hajar’s Mukhtasar (1:90-91 #32)”

Imam Suyuti in his “Khasais al Kubra” (Vol 1, Pg 263) relates the above narration mentioning that it was reported by Ibn Abi Hatim (d. 327), Bayhaqi, al-Bazzar, Tabrani and Ibn Mardawi (d.410).

Praying at the graves of the Prophets

Imam Ibn al Jawzi al-Hanbali in his book “Merits of Al-Quds” relates the narration:

أنبأنا المبارك ابن أحمد، أنبأنا أبو الحسين محمد ابن محمد، أنبأنا أبو محمد عبد العزيز ابن أحمد ابن عمر النصيبي، أنبأنا أبو بكر أحمد ابن صالح ابن عمر المقرئ، حدثنا عيسى ابن عبد الله، حدثنا علي ابن جعفر الرازي، حدثنا العباس ابن أحمد ابن عبد الله الرازي، حدثنا العباس ابن أحمد ابن عبد الله، حدثنا عبد الله ابن عمر المقدسي، حدثنا بكر ابن زياد الباهلي عن عبد الله ابن المبارك، عن سعد ابن أبي عروبة، عن قتادة، عن زرارة ابن أوفى، عن أبي هريرة قال: قال رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم: لما أسري بي إلى بيت المقدس، مر بي جبريل على قبر إبراهيم. فقال انزل فصل هاهنا ركعتين. هاهنا قبر أبيك إبراهيم. ثم مر بي ببيت لحم، فقال انزل صلى هاهنا ركعتين هاهنا ولد أخوك عيسى. ثم أتى بي إلى الصخرة فقال من هاهنا عرج ربك إلى السماء.

Here in this narration, during the Isra journey, the Prophet peace be upon him travels to the tomb of  Ibrahim alaihy salam and is asked by Jibril alaihy salam to pray 2 rakahs, and Jibril then informs that “this is the grave of your father Ibrahim”.

 

 

Prophets even after their death can help the living

Narrated Abbas bin Malik: Malik bin Sasaa said that Allah’s Apostle described to them his Night Journey saying, (……) Then the prayers were enjoined on me: They were fifty prayers a day. When I returned, I passed by Moses who asked (me), ‘What have you been ordered to do?’ I replied, ‘I have been ordered to offer fifty prayers a day.’ Moses said, ‘Your followers cannot bear fifty prayers a day, and by Allah, I have tested people before you, and I have tried my level best with Bani Israel (in vain). Go back to your Lord and ask for reduction to lessen your followers’ burden.’ So I went back, and Allah reduced ten prayers for me. Then again I came to Moses, but he repeated the same as he had said before. Then again I went back to Allah and He reduced ten more prayers. When I came back to Moses he said the same, I went back to Allah and He ordered me to observe ten prayers a day. When I came back to Moses, he repeated the same advice, so I went back to Allah and was ordered to observe five prayers a day.When I came back to Moses, he said, ‘What have you been ordered?’ I replied, ‘I have been ordered to observe five prayers a day.’ He said, ‘Your followers cannot bear five prayers a day, and no doubt, I have got an experience of the people before you, and I have tried my level best with Bani Israel, so go back to your Lord and ask for reduction to lessen your follower’s burden.’ I said, ‘I have requested so much of my Lord that I feel ashamed, but I am satisfied now and surrender to Allah’s Order.’ When I left, I heard a voice saying, ‘I have passed My Order and have lessened the burden of My Worshipers.” [Sahih Al-Bukhari 5.227]

How can those who belong to this Wahhabi sect, who repeat day in and day out about how the “dead” would not be able to help, perform prayer only 5 times a day ? It was due to the help of Nabi Musa alaihi salam that the Ummah of Prophet Muhammed  had the obligatory prayer reduced to 5.  The ungrateful Wahhabis should be praying 50 times of obligatory prayer a day instead. And before they accuse Sunni Muslims of shirk, they should realize they are ultimately directing shirk upon the Prophet  for seeking help of Musa alaihi salaam. May Allah protect us from such blasphemy.

————————

Notes:

[1] Wahhabis have this weird obsession in associating shirk with trees such that they always bring tree as an example when explaining their self manufactured definitions of  tawhid and worship. This obsession with trees emerges from a false interpretation of the hadith of dhat anwat which we posted about earlier. In any case, in the following narration, is an example of another tree whose significance the Prophet specifically cited:

Yahya related to me from Malik from Muhammad ibn Amr ibn Halhala ad-Dili from Muhammad ibn lmran al-Ansari that his father said that Abdullah ibn Umar came upon him while he stopped for a rest under a tall tree on the road to Makka, and he said, “What has made you stop under this tall tree?” He replied that he sought it’s shade. Abdullah ibn Umar said, “Anything besides that?” and he said, “No, that was the only. reason he stopped for a rest,” and Abdullah ibn Umar said, “The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ‘If you are between al-Akhshabayn (which are two mountains) near Mina,’ indicating the east with his outspread hand, ‘you will find a valley called as-Surar with a tree in it beneath which the umbilical cords of seventy prophets have been cut.'” [Malik’s Muwatta, Book 20, Hadith 258]

One comment

Leave a Reply

